St Colmcille's 0-08 - 1-05 Don Ash Junior Football

30th July 2016 - 7:00 pm at Duleek

Don/Ash 1 – 05
St. Colmcilles 0 – 08

Donaghmore/Ashbourne had to settle for a draw with St. Colmcilles in this entertaining Junior B game at Duleek on Saturday evening after leading at half time by 1 – 4 to 2 points.
Jamie Dwyer opened the scoring for Don/Ash with a point in the fourth minute. Three minutes later Cian Field went on a defense splitting run before crossing to Colin O’Sullivan who palmed the ball into the net. Dual player Field scored the next point just before St. Colmcilles got their first score, a point after fifteen minutes.
The score of the game came in the twentieth minute, a point by Joey Long from outside the forty five meter line. A Colin O’Sullivan point just before half time was then cancelled out by the ‘Cilles second score in injury time. Don/Ash could have been much further ahead if any of three goal chances had gone in, first Jamie Dwyer saw his low shot hit both posts before been cleared. Colin O’Sullivan had a shot well saved and Cian Field was unlucky to shoot just outside the post after an inch perfect pass from O’Sullivan.

St. Colmcilles got the first score of the second half, a point after two minutes. Joey Long scored his second point in the thirty eighth minute, another spectacular effort from out the field. However this proved to be Don/Ash’s only score of the second half as St. Colmcilles now with the wind at their backs started piling on the pressure. Despite the best efforts of the Don/Ash defense they scored five points without reply with the equalizer coming in the last minute.
Anthony Lynn, Liam Finn and Niall Moran were excellent at the back, Andy Brady and Niall Kavanagh won a lot of ball at midfield while up front the speed of Jamie Dwyer, Cian Field and Colin O’Sullivan caused a lot of problems.

Don/Ash: Matty Davis, Anthony Lynn, Matty Finn, Mick McCabe, Liam Finn, Niall Moran, Rossa O’Donnell, Andy Brady, Niall Kavanagh, Jamie Dwyer 0 – 1, Joey Long 0 – 2, Cian Field 0 – 1, Colin O’Sullivan 1 – 1, Anthony McElearney, Eoin Caffrey.
Subs: Stephen Breslin for Eoin Caffrey;┬áLorcan Nolan for Cian Field;┬áConor Heffernan for Colin O’Sullivan