Match Report Div 1B Donaghmore Ashbourne v Skryne

Match Report B League Division 1, Round 1
Donaghmore / Ashbourne v Skryne
Venue: Ashbourne
Saturday 23/2/19, 7.00pm

Halftime: Donaghmore Ashbourne 0-5 Skryne 0-2
Fulltime: Donaghmore Ashbourne 0-7 Skryne 0-6

Donaghmore Ashbourne GAA’s 2nd team commenced their defence of the B1 League with a hard-fought win against a spirited Skryne side. Donaghmore Ashbourne GAA struck first in the 4th minute as Darragh O’Sullivan fired over after good sustained pressure on the away team. Thereafter came ten minutes of scrappy play until Skryne got a free and converted it into the top end. Donaghmore Ashbourne GAA hit back immediately and fired a succession of points over into the town end. Darragh O’Sullivan with a free on 15 minutes, and one each from Shane Rae and O’Sullivan within a minute. O’Sullivan struck again on 25 minutes before a soft free against stand-in keeper Tadg Kelly allowed Skryne to close out the scoring on half time.
The second half saw Skryne draw level before 40 minutes with a free and two from play. Donaghmore Ashbourne GAA had a penalty on 44 minutes which was saved by the Skryne netminder. Donaghmore Ashbourne GAA were undeterred and continued to put pressure on Skryne defence before Dylan Cassidy made a good run and raised another white flag from play on 46 minutes. Skryne threatened the Donaghmore Ashbourne GAA goal on a couple of occasions and the home side were indebted to ‘keeper Kelly as he pulled off a great save when it looked a certain goal for the Tara men. Skryne didn’t give up and equalised on 54 minutes. Both sides had chances to score and finish out the game but Donaghmore Ashbourne GAA showing silky interplay worked the ball up to the danger area where Skryne, with some last-ditch defending, conceded a scorable free. Darragh O’Sullivan took on the responsibility and duly obliged.
Overall there were some very good passages of play and although some mistakes were made Donaghmore Ashbourne GAA battled through and earned the valuable 2 league points.

Donaghmore Ashbourne Team:
Tadg Kelly, Karl Cassidy, Martin Lynch, Gareth Deery, Shane Rae (0-1), Ryan Bannon, Dylan Cassidy (0-1), Chris Brady, Declan Healy, Matt Crumlish, Patrick Murtagh, Stephen Fenton, Darragh O’Sullivan (0-5, (2f)), Luke Wilson, James Brady.
Subs: Chris Twomey for Rae, Kevin Fenton for J. Brady, Stephen Breslin for Crumlish, Shane O’Sullivan.