Match Report: Juniors make it two wins out of two in League

B Reserve League game played at Simonstown 7.45 pm Monday 9th May 2016

Full-time Simonstown 0-05 Donaghmore Ashbourne 4-15

Halftime Simonstown 0-03 Donaghmore Ashbourne 2-07

Donaghmore Ashbourne’s┬áthird team traveled to Simonstown to fulfill this fixture on a warm sunny Monday evening. The away side started slowly and absorbed some sustained pressure from Simonstown before breaking out and registering the first score of the game on 10 minutes from Cian Field. Simonstown replied with a point of their own but over the next ten minutes Donaghmore Ashbourne applied some pressure and scored a further 2-03 to Simonstown’s one point. Cian Field who displayed pace and resilience to score 2-01 in that 10 minute spell, all from play was ably helped by Colin O’Sullivan and Anthony McAlearney who chipped in with a point each.

Simonstown pointed again and it was their last score of the half. Donaghmore Ashbourne moved the ball quickly, made intelligent runs off the ball and finished the half stronger with a brace from O’Sullivan and a well taken free from David Carey.

The second half continued in the same pattern as the first and Simonstown pointed within a minute of the restart. Field replied with a point and Simonstown pointed again. It was to be their last score of the game as Donaghmore Ashbourne used their bench and brought on fresh legs to start scoring again. Jamie Dwyer pointed before Mark Donnelly goaled for the visitors after neat interlinking play. Simonstown did hit the Donaghmore Ashbourne crossbar with a fine strike but from the rebound Donaghmore Ashbourne worked the ball down the field and Liam Finn scored another point. Donaghmore Ashbourne continued to attack and scored a further 1-05 in the last 10 minutes of the game. Darren McKeever goaled from short range and points from Mick McCabe, Cian Field, Joe Long, and a brace of points from McKeever sealed the win 4-15 to 0-05.

There were some fine performances all over the field with Cian Field, Andrew Brady, Michael McCabe and Colin O’Sullivan playing well for Donaghmore Ashbourne’s third team.

Donaghmore Ashbourne team, Matt Davis, Matt Finn, Niall Kavanagh, Liam Finn (0-1), Michael McCabe (0-1), Niall Moran, Rossa O’Donnell, Joe Long (c) (0-1), Andrew Brady, Jamie Dwyer (0-1), David Carey (0-1 free), Cian Field (2-4), Colin O’Sullivan (0-3), Anthony McAlearney (0-1), Eoin Caffrey.

Subs: Martin Quinn for O’Donnell, Darren McKeever (1-2) for Caffrey, Danny Clarke for Brady, Chris Brady for Carey, Mark Donnelly (1-0) for McAlearney, Mark Byrne for Field.


Referee Mr P. Clarke.