Match Report Div 1A Donaghmore Ashbourne v Skryne

Both teams earned a point apiece after this entertaining A League Division 1 game played in Ashbourne on Sunday 19th May 2019.

Frees from Stephen Carton and Paul Gilligan got the home side up and running but Skryne hit back with a point and a disputed goal. The home side set in motion attack after attack and scored 5 points in a row, a free from Stephen Carton, a point from Shane Melia, a free from Paul Gilligan and two more from play by Stephen Carton. Skryne responded with their second goal on 18 minutes and Stephen Carton was having a fine afternoon pointing twice more either side of a Skryne point. Skryne scored 3 in a row on 26, 27 and 29 minutes to draw level. Dylan Brady working hard scored a brace of points on 29 and 31 minutes. On the stroke of half time a well worked move put Andrew Tormey in to fire a shot on goal which hit the crossbar and Stephen Carton made no mistake finishing it to the net. Half time score Donaghmore Ashbourne 2.10 Skryne 2.05.

Facing a stiff breeze in the second half Donaghmore Ashbourne attacked on the restart and Simon Wilson pointed immediately. Skryne replied with a point and Stephen Carton pointed again on 35 minutes. A period of domination by Skryne followed where they scored 6 points in a row, mainly frees from Paddy O’Rourke, to draw level again, 2.12 apiece.  Going into the last quarter both teams gave their all. Shaun Byrne pointed on 51 minutes and again Skryne responded with 4 left to play. Paul Gilligan pointed a free on 57 minutes and Stephen Carton finished a patient move to go two in front on 58 minutes. A free on 59 minutes for Skryne was converted quickly and deep into added time another free was awarded and Paul Gilligan was awarded black card. Skryne pointed the free to level the game again. There was still time left for one more attack by Donaghmore Ashbourne who worked the ball up to their forwards but the resultant shot drifted to the left and wide.

Final Score: Donaghmore Ashbourne 2.15 Skryne 2.15

Donaghmore Ashbourne team: Sean Hogan, Alan Murtagh, Colm O’Mealoid, David Carr, Shaun Byrne (0-1), Conor Carton, Paul Gilligan (0-3f), Killian Hogan, Shane Melia (0-1), James Crumlish, Andrew Tormey, Gary Sweeney, Stephen Carton (2-7, 2f), Simon Wilson (0-1), Dylan Brady (0-2).

Subs: Leo Reilly for Sweeney, Declan Healy for Killian Hogan, Jason Boland for Gilligan (BC)